Email to a possible client.

Screen Shot 2017-03-15 at 15.38.16.png

Hi Sally,

As you may know, I am studying Graphic design at Plymouth College of Art and coming to the end of my final year. I am really interested in corporate branding and advertising and have just been offered a place to study graphic design at Falmouth University which is the no.1 arts university in the U.K! For my final project here at PCA, I am wanting to create a brand identity package for a food or drinks company from the South West of England and I would love to be able to rebrand Cornish Country Cordials. The package would include; a new logo, new website design, new product packaging designs, uniform design and market stall banner designs. If you like the final outcomes of the project, you would be more than welcome to use the designs in any way you like, but if you don’t there would be no hard feelings. 🙂

It would be great to ask you some questions about your business, how it started, who your target market is etc. for research which would need to be in the next week or so.

Can’t wait to hear back from you as this project will be really exciting!

Thanks for your time.

Ed Tucker

For this project, my initial idea was to create a brand identity package for a food or drinks company which would include; a logo, website, product packaging, uniform designs and market stall graphics. Originally I was going to create my own brand with a name I had chosen but as I know a couple of companies who already are established business, I thought I might contact one of them who are based close to me and ask if I could rebrand their company. The current branding works but I feel I could help get them more business with a more powerful and outgoing brand identity. I will take complete control of the project and will ask the company to give feedback on my designs and if they like the final outcomes I will allow them to use the design.

16/03/17

Just had an email back from Sally the owner of Cornish Country Cordials saying yes I could rebrand her business. I will phone her in the next 2-3 days and ask some questions that will help with the idea generation stage.

Screen Shot 2017-03-16 at 14.40.02.png

Over the past year, I’ve watched many videos on Youtube about creating branding for companies and one thing I’ve learnt is that you need to understand the company completely. By this, I mean you need to know why they do what they do, who they do it for and where they want to go in the future – these are just a few. To get a complete understanding of Cornish Country Cordials, I’ve asked to meet with Sally the owner to talk about her business as understanding the business will make it easy to create work for her as I will be able to generate ideas easier. I will make sure to take a camera with me so I can take reference photography and document her practice.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 11.35.55

Here are a list of questions I will want to get answers for when I see her on Saturday.

  • When did you start CCC?
  • Why did you start CCC?
  • What is your target market? gender, age, income?
  • What do you want your business to become?
  • What is CCC to you?
  • What are the core values/ethos of the CCC?

I will also want to get a list of all her products and the measurements of her stall at a farmers market. I will also ask to buy/have some of the products, so I can taste them and write down what I feel about each one.

Leave a Reply

