Logo Design – Designing And Developing The New Logo.

One of the items inside the new branding packaging for Cornish Country Cordials I am creating is a logo. I am wanting to create a logomark and/or a logotype that connotes the country, healthy wellbeing and possibly the middle-class market.

Here are my initial ideas for possible logos.

20170427_084604

I really like all three of the bigger designs on this page of ideas. My favourite is the tree with leaves made from the three c shapes. Through the whole design, I want to convey CCC’s ethos of using locally and naturally grown fruit and veg and how the cordials are healthier than those that have added flavourings and preservatives. I will do this by incorporating an aspect of nature in the logo.

20170427_08461620170427_092138.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 11.59.37

When I showed these initial logo design ideas to Sally the owner of Cornish Country Cordials, she said her favourite design was the top-left one. She said she really liked the idea of having the three c’s arranged to look like foliage. At first, she liked the version with the solid rectangle background but I advised her that the block behind the logo wouldn’t look good on the labels with the watercolour idea we had, I also mentioned that the ridged shape doesn’t work with our handmade ethos as it might look to industrial.

Here are some vectorized versions of the logos and below are 3 of my favourite initial designs.Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 12.08.40

I am a fan of this design as it has everything I want below to feel when the see the cordials – that they’re good enough for animals to drink. Although it still needs tweaking I like the idea behind it.

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 12.08.33

With this logo, I like the hand written type as it gives the sense that everything is handmade and good for you. I would like to rework the hand drawn part as the weight isn’t the same all the way through.

Screen Shot 2017-05-08 at 12.09.04

This third logo I like, as it had a hidden meaning. The 3 arcs that make up the leaves are supposed to be the 3 c’s for Cornish Country Cordials.  The only problem that I have with this logo, is that when I should it to my lecturer he said the logo looked like Adolf Hitler’s nose and moustache and obviously we don’t want customers thinking the same thing when seeing the logo.

More logo sketching.

20170512_100358

Here are some more ideas I had one afternoon, some keeping with the natural theme but others like the champagne glass that go for the more middle to upper-class feel.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 14.11.56

I was originally using the serif font Minion Pro but had a look to see what a san serif font like Futura Light would look like. After looking at them both for a while, my lecturer and I came to the conclusion that the San Serif font Futura Light worked better, as the contrast between the thick hand lettering and the Futura Light felt more natural.

20170511_083759 (1)

As I wasn’t 100% set on the first hand-lettering draft I did, I decided to try again and see if I could do it better. The top attempt was created in my own hand written style whereas the bottom version was created in the way most people do hand lettering with a brush pen. The brush pen way should have a heavier weight on the downstroke than the upstroke. To help me vectorize the images in Illustrator, I watched a few Youtube videos to get tips. One of the main tips I got, to make the vector version look more professional, was to use the anchor points in a horizontal, vertical, horizontal, vertical pattern and this way you get nice curves.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.53.25

The top logo was the original handwritten logo, with the following two being the second draft versions of which the top one is the one in the correct handwritten style, although I do prefer the second of the two. I had the idea of having a bird sat on top of the C and liked how it looked when I draw it out on paper but wasn’t a fan of how it looked digitally.  I really like the bottom design of the four with the leaf growing out of the C of Country as it has everything I want from the logo – to show the nature and handmade sides of Cornish Country Cordials. If I was to use this as the finished logo, I would use the new hand lettering as the example above is using the first draft of my hand lettering.

20170511_150117 (1)The idea of the logo being a bird drinking out of a wine/champagne glass was one I really liked as it shows that Sally’s cordials are almost good enough for animals to drink.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 10.01.01

If I was to use this as the final logo, I would like to rework the tail feathers, as I am not sure whether to have them pointy or flat. As the image needed to be recognisable in black and white, I tried just using one single colour as seen below and it worked nicely.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 14.01.30

After looking at the design with just a solid colour, I noticed that it actually looks more sophisticated, which is somewhat what I want the logo to connote.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 14.20.27

After looking at the design again, I noticed that I didn’t like the bottom of the wine glass, as it was just to round. So I flattened the bottom of and now I like the design a whole lot more.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.51.15

I draw an initial logo design with a bunch of others, that featured two champagne glass ‘tinging’. I came up with the design when thinking about how women aged 20-40 will be drinking the cordials. When speaking to Sally, she said that women often buy the drinks to mix with Prosecco and other alcoholic beverages and when drinking them, they would most probably be with friends having fun. I think all three of the logos work well as they feature the semiotic of having a good time. Overall, I like the design but I don’t think it’s the strongest idea I have.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.54.55

This logo design I created in a spare moment and it incorporates the idea that nature is inside the cordial you buy. I personally have mixed feelings about the design, as it works in some ways; such as the idea that nature is inside the cordial, although myself and other people have thought people might not get the idea and think that the cordials have flower water inside.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.53.56

The top logo was the client’s favourite and also one of the logos which I really liked even though my lecturer told me he thought it looked like Adolf Hilter’s moustache and nose. To get around this, I decided to see what it might look like with a single C shape of foliage but I wasn’t too happy with the outcomes, so I kept with the initial design.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 10.16.10

I still wasn’t happy that people might think it was Hitler’s moustache and nose, so I sat down with my lecturer and we decided to move the c shape arc’s closer together and move them down the trunk a bit and I feel it looks a whole lot better.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 14.30.07

It when suggested to me that I experimented with using more than just the three c shape arcs. At first, I wasn’t too sure about the idea but gave it ago anyway. The first design I liked at first but somehow went off it so changed the orientation of two of the arcs which made me like the logo a lot more.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.32.28

I was advised to go even further and change the size and orientation of some of the arcs. A few of these I like but still personally feel having just the three arcs as the whole bassist of the ideas as the three together symbolised the three c’s of Cornish Country Cordials – but at the end of the day, it’s all up to the client!

I will now send all the versions of the three arc tree logo to the client so she can choose the final version or give final ways to change one.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 15.36.01

These are my personal favourite designs as I feel they all fit the target audience of women aged 20-40, have connotations of nature and goodness and would be liked by people from middle to upper-class backgrounds.

Screen Shot 2017-05-18 at 09.58.33

Here are some of the finished designs displayed on aprons, which is one of the places they will be seen, so I need to make sure they work.

Clients Final Decision.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 15.37.27

I emailed the client Sally, with a bunch of subversions of the logo she liked. Her reply was…

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 15.43.18

The font she was talking about was Futura which I featured of some other logos I sent her. So I changed the font and sent it back to her again.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 11.46.25

This time her reply was…

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 15.46.09

followed shortly by…

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 15.46.27

I had wondered this question throughout the whole logo design process, so made sure that there was nothing too small on any design. To give her another option, I changed the Futura weight from Light to Book.

Screen Shot 2017-05-19 at 13.06.52

jp-beer_zoom_6-bottle-carrier-with-handles

I am very happy with the final logo as it has the upper class feel I wanted, it incorporates the nature aspect I wanted. The logo overall looks stylish and I also believe it fits the target market of women aged 20-40 as it’s elegant and has a powerful and modern look. The logo is also very recognisable which is what logo has to be to be a good logo.

Leave a Reply

