Experimenting with Brusho.

Brusho is a powder paint, that when mixed with water and sprayed using a spray bottle over a piece of paper, creates these amazing wet in wet style pieces. Different colours of Brusho can be mixed together to get more accurate colours – just like watercolour.

I was introduced to this medium by my friend and wanted to try it as I love the free flowing effect wet in wet watercolour gives you, so I wanted to see how it would look with Brusho. One thing I didn’t realise before starting my experiments was you could adjust the spray pressure on the head to get different effects. If you have the pressure really low like I had, sometimes the Brusho just drips out creating really dark horrible blobs on the paper which I don’t like.

With Brusho, just like watercolours, you want to choose colours that when merged together create a colour that compliments the other two.

20170503_13120820170503_131217

This is an example of the low-pressure nozzle, where the Brusho has just dripped out onto the paper creating a really wet bold patch, that I don’t particularly like.

20170503_131225

This is my favourite experiment as blue, yellow and the blended green work nicely together. With the right colours, I think you could make Brusho look like the juices from the freshly squeezed fruits in the cordial. Brusho also creates these interesting visual textures that could make the labels really pop on a shop shelf.

The thing I liked about Brusho was how it could be used to make it look like the cordial were what in fact made those incredible splashes. Although this was interesting I feel for my project watercolour is going to be more suitable as it’s easier to mix the right colour.

Leave a Reply

